Murphy Racing

2010 Schedule

WW2 Crew

Photo Archive

Used Parts


Mail WW2 Racing








MSPA logo


The Motor Sports Press Association is an organization comprised of professional motorsports and automotive journalists and photographers from throughout Northern California, as well as Nevada, Washington, Arizona, Indiana, and North Carolina. Through newspapers, radio, television, magazines, specialty publications, and photography, members reach an audience of more than 55 million.

For more than 37 years the members of the MSPA have covered the world of wheels, reporting the excitement of racing and addressing the important issues of racing and the automotive industry.

The MSPA annually honors outstanding performances of motorsports athletes with it's Racers of the Year, Gordon Martin, and prestigious MSPA Hall of Fame awards. Additionally, the John Ryan Journalism Awards are presented to members of the MSPA in several motor sport and automotive categories for outstanding achievement in journalism, photography, and electronic media as determined by a panel of distinguished motoring media experts.

2003 Racers of the Year Awards:

Congratulations to everyone who was granted an MSPA "driver of the year" award during the voting in our November, 2002 meeting. They include: Athlete of the Year: BCRA driver Ken Molica; Oval Track Open Wheel: Civil War Series sprint car champion Mike Henry; Stock Car: Rusty Buholtz, Altamont Speedway Sportsman champion; Bill Spencer Motorcycle Riders: Tony Souza, AMA flat track series and Casey Yarrow, international SuperTT series; and Drag Racing: Jim Murphy from the Goodguys (VRA) nostalgia series. The list is not as long as it has been in past years. But it is a quality list of award recipients. It’s also the result of work by some members who submitted nominations for the first time, including Tom Parker and Mike Shriver, as well as other members who have done so in past years.

MSPA Green Flag/Awards Dinner was held Wednesday, March 5, 2003 at Francesca’s in Oakland


MSPA Award

Jim Murphy proudly displays the award he received Wednesday evening before the March Meet from The Motor Sports Press Association.


Untitled Document

Jim Murphy Racing  
 ||  2023 Schedule
Holy Smokes Funny Car
Race Results & Videos

HOME   ||  Top of Page